Elections House, Haile Selassie Avenue, P O Box 50274, LUSAKA. 24th  February, 2017 PRESS RELEASE ELECTIONS FOR COUNCIL CHAIRPERSON IN MASAITI DISTRICT AND BY-ELECTIONS IN TWO LOCAL GOVERNMENT WARDS Notice is hereby given to the general public that the Electoral Commission of Zambia has prescribed Tuesday, 25th April, 2017 as the date on which to hold the District Chairperson’s election for Masaiti District. On the same date, the Commission will also conduct Local Government by-elections in Ipongo and Kasamba wards. The elections in Masaiti District have been necessitated following the resignation of the Council Chairperson, while the vacancy in Ipongo and Kasamba occurred due to the death of area councilors. The polls will take place from 06:00 hours to 18:00 hours. Aspiring candidates in the by-elections should lodge completed and attested statutory declaration and nomination papers subscribed before a Magistrate, Local Court Magistrate, Head of a Government Primary or Secondary School, Principal of a College, Commissioner of Oaths, Election Officer or Returning Officer on Thursday 16th March, 2017  between 09:00 hours and 15:00 hours.   Aspiring candidates for Masaiti should take along with them fifteen (15) supporters who must be registered voters in the respective constituencies.  The supporters must have in their possession their green national registration cards and voters’ cards. Aspiring candidates will be required to pay Two thousand Kwacha (K2 000.00) non-refundable nomination fee.  Aspiring candidates in the Local Government by-elections should take along with them nine (9) supporters who must be registered voters in the affected wards. Aspiring candidates will be required to pay Seven Hundred and fifty Kwacha (K750.00), for City and Municipal Councils and Four Hundred Kwacha (K400.00) for District Councils non-refundable nomination fee. Media personnel and Registered Non-Governmental Organisations wishing to monitor/observe the elections are advised to apply for accreditation in the respective districts, which will take place from 10th March to 21st April 2017.   Accreditation for political party officials wishing to monitor elections in the constituency shall only be up to a maximum of 10 members per political party. Please note that only a maximum of 5 accredited members per political party and two accredited representatives of NGOs shall be authorised to represent their respective political parties or NGOs at the Collation Centre (Totaling Centre). Only three (3) senior officials of any participating political party with Electoral Commission of Zambia accreditation will be allowed to accompany aspiring candidates into the Nomination Centre during the filing of nominations. The rest of the supporters should remain outside the 400 metre parameter from the Polling Station, in accordance with the law. Note that the campaign period for these elections commences on Thursday 16th March, 2017 after 15:00 hours and will end at 18:00 hours on Wednesday, 24th April, 2017.   In addition, not more than two (2) political party members per participating political party shall be allowed to witness counting of votes at the Polling Station.  SCHEDULE PROVINCE                 Copperbelt DISTRICT Masaiti For any clarification, please contact the Public Relations Department on 0211 252208 or the District Electoral Officers in the respective districts. Sylvia Bwalya SENIOR PUBLIC RELATIONS OFFICERELECTORAL COMMISSION OF ZAMBIA.